Wednesday, 16 June 2010

Meet the Member - SoleDeVita

Please introduce yourself. Who are you, where do you live?

Hi, there! My name is Solvita and I am 27 years young! I live in a small town called Valmiera in the North of Latvia. I am married almost 3 years now. My husband is Jānis, who works in Theater as a sound operator. I am a warehouse manager at small Optical company. I spend my working days at the computer so in the evenings I want to do something creative. :))

How would you describe your work / style?

Hmmm.. Since I remember my self, I've always created something. Greeting cards, button necklaces, earrings, picture collages and so on... Now I am grown up and I wanted to do something different. I started to make colorful Pin-back buttons for young Ladies. I wanted to do something different an NOT to make those buttons with "funny jokes". So I found my stile. I use natural feathers, gorgeous colorful paper from Thailand, real gold and silver foil and Beautiful dried flowers from Latvian meadows. I describe my style as a quite unique and one of a kind.

Who, or what, inspires you?

I love nature and it is the greatest inspiration of all. I spent lots of time with my Mother and she is also mad nature lover. Very often we go for long walks through the woods and we collect the flowers, which finds its place in my buttons.

What made you decide to start selling your work?

I just wanted to share my creations with other people. And if I can earn a little money with this... So why not?

Do you have a website or blog address?

How did you learn your craft? How long have you been creating?

I learned it on my own, without any assistance. Well, maybe with a little help from Internet. ;) I create my buttons already half a year.

Is there any other craft skill you would like to learn?

I would like to learn making stained glass. It is Amazing art.

Anything exciting planned that you’d like to share?

This month is my Moms 50 years B-day! I am planing a nice surprise party by the sea! Shhhhh... Don't tell anyone! :))

Have you had any work featured in magazines/books/galleries?

Unfortunately, no. But I hope to..

Has your work won any prizes/competitions?

I am doing my thing only a half of year. And I do have a long way to go to become recognizable and to win something.

If I wasn’t doing this, I’d be………

making something different. Maybe Floristic.

Describe your perfect day.

It certainly is sunny Saturday. Leisurely morning with a cup of coffee in hand.

Describe your proudest moment.

This interview is also a proud moment for me. I am proud when someone gets my Badges, and is happy with them.

What do you do to relax?

I drive my bicycle, I sleep a lot, and I go out with my friends to have some sushi!

What animal would you like to be, and why?

I would be a cat. They are so fantastic animals. Fun, proud and independent.

What’s your weakness?

Chocolate cake and champagne. This is all that is necessary for full happiness. :))

This is me and my Mom. :)


  1. Solvita, SO NICE to get to know you! I love the flair of nature your lovely pins have!

  2. Hey, Lovelies!
    Thank you for this honor and...
    ...Sorry for my "not so good" English. ;)

  3. Solvita, your English is wonderful!! So great to meet you :)

  4. Hi Solvita, I love your buttons! I came across them the other day and was so impressed with them. And what a really lovely picture of you and your mom!

  5. Hi Solvita, Nice to meet you. Your pins are so pretty.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing!
    Btw: your mom is younger than me :)


Thank you for your comment.